Chung Trio performs at Ewha to honor their late mother
Chung Trio performs at Ewha to honor their late mother
  • Kim Jin-ah
  • 승인 2011.12.05 13:25
  • 댓글 0
이 기사를 공유합니다

▲ The Chung Trio will provide a memorial concert at Ewha to commemorate their late mother. The trio consists of cellist Chung Myung-wha (left), maestro Chung Myung-whun (top) on piano, and violinist Chung Kyung-wha (bottom).
The Chung Trio; Chung Myung-wha on cello, Chung Kyung-wha on violin, and maestro Chung Myung-whun on piano, will hold a concert on Dec. 13 at the Welch-Ryang Auditorium under the theme of “Memorial Concert for Mother.” The concert is a reunion for the two sisters and a brother, who make up a violin-cello-piano ensemble, in seven years. The memorial concert will be held only at Ewha and the Onnuri Church in Seobinggo-dong on the same date.
The concert is especially held at Ewha to look back upon the memory of their late mother, Lee Won-sook (’39, Nutritional Science & Food Management), who was not only an alumna of Ewha but also the first winner of the Proud Ewha Fellow award. The Chung Trio themselves chose the music pieces and name of the title of the concert in order to help the audiences recall their own mothers.
The fact that Ewha is Lee’s alma mater and where she developed her love for music, is not the only reason the trio selected Ewha as the concert place. The trio holds special memories of having performances at the Welch-Ryang Auditorium because Ewha had the only specialized auditorium system in Korea back then where they could play music at a world-class level.
The Chung Trio showed their intention to spend valuable time with those who remember Lee and with people who want to share mother’s love together. Furthermore, young students studying music, local residents, and the Ewha family from Ewha faculty to students are invited to the concert.
The free concert tickets for students were given out on Nov. 28 on a first-come-first-served basis at the Ewha Eco Shop in the Morris Hall. The concert program will be made up of four pieces that were composed by Bach, Mozart, Rachmaninoff, and Brahms, respectively.

삭제한 댓글은 다시 복구할 수 없습니다.
그래도 삭제하시겠습니까?
댓글 0
계정을 선택하시면 로그인·계정인증을 통해
댓글을 남기실 수 있습니다.